Lawnmowers pull crowd at Notts County Show

The roar of the YFC Lawnmowers couldn’t keep the crowds away at this years’ Nottinghamshire County Show.

The YFC area was buzzing all weekend, and the clubs put on a great showcase, there were over 200 entries in the exhibit classes and over 125 in the Stock classes.

Congratulations to all nine clubs who were competing against each other over the weekend, whether it be in Cake decorating, Swiss Roll making, Scrap metal sculpturing or racing lawnmowers up and down the main ring.

YFC lawnmower racing has certainly turned into a highlight of the YFC calendar and by the looks of the crowds over the weekend, the spectators too. 8 lawnmower were entered, but, Motorsport can be cruel so after a tinkering session on Friday evening Worksop’s mower was out of the race, Cropwell’s soon followed on day one and Caunton’s also had clutch issues, the bonus of racing two days was that they had the time to fix and minor issues. However, Day two was not without it’s perils, Cropwell were back with a fighting spirit, with a little extra smoke for effect, but it did finish the race, unlike Caunton who managed the two opening laps only to see the chain no longer attached by the time the driver was reaching for his position, Day two’s race was undoubtedly about speed and Papplewick easily cruised to victory under driver Matt Marshall.


Collingham YFC retained their winning streak by taking the Exhibit and Stock judging trophies home, were crowned Club of the Year and they also managed to win day one of the lawnmower race, making use of their home advantage.

The highest Scoring Junior Stock judger was Daisy Haigh of Tuxford YFC, and the highest scoring Senior Member was awarded to James Ashworth of Lowdham YFC who took home the Mick Saxby Memorial Trophy.

Cropwell YFC won the tough fought Interclub Challenge trophy and the Members Member Award went to Southwell YFC Secretary Ashleigh Overton.

Two new recognition awards were presented alongside the Club of the Year, these were for a Club Chairman, which was won by Katie Gent of Tuxford YFC and the club with the best minutes, which was awarded to Daisy Gilman of Southwell YFC.

Runners up in the club of the year competition were Tuxford YFC and 3rd place Southwell YFC.

Well done to Will Hill, show Chairman and his team. And special thanks to our sponsors Duncan and Toplis, Tallents Solicitors, Newark Livestock Market and The Newark and Notts Agricultural Society.

More photo’s and videos over on our facebook page

« Back to news